My Friend, Alaska

I don't have to go far, but I do have to go

 

Here we go again. Another break up and another trip to reconnect and find myself. I don’t say that with judgment of myself. I’ve allowed some well-needed space for the lessons of my journey. Where I “go” when things go wrong is quite telling. And this time, I’m listening.

The day I got clear that breaking up is what I had to do is the same day I bought my plane ticket to Alaska. The opportunity to visit Fairbanks had been there for months, and for a number of reasons (read excuses), I’ve delayed taking the trip. If I really tell the truth to myself, fear in my relationship is much of the reason I put off the trip. Fear of what he would do when I was gone. Fear of making him uncomfortable by taking a trip without him. Fear of obsessing the entire time I was gone. I have a habit of doing that. Of suspending my hopes and dreams in the interest of other people. Or so I tell myself. These “others” rarely ask me to put my needs aside for theirs. It’s just something I naturally do to an unhealthy level and I don’t care for it anymore. I think that’s why, when life goes awry, I fly. The vagabond road is my calling, and whether it’s a relationship or a business I use to suppress that gypsy spirit, it will inevitably rear it’s beautiful, sun-kissed head and send me on my way. There is no escape from a calling. It always finds you.

So, Alaska and I have become good friends. She’s got a lot to offer, and among them is an energy that acts much like the best kind of drug imaginable. A drug that connects you to your spirit and offers the clarity of mind that most of us crave in our lives. A clarity that often gets jumbled and lost in daily commutes, grocery lists, and drama.

I set a few intentions on the flight up here. Five things I wanted to get clear on, or let go of. And that worked. Without even consciously thinking about my intentions, the inspiration and clarity came. Everything I wanted and more. For that, I will be forever grateful for the trip and hospitality offered by friends in Fairbanks, as well as my new friend, Alaska, herself. Chief among those intentions is the commitment to seeing this beautiful world around us and making every day life an adventure. I don’t have to go far, but I do have to go. As far as the rest of the intentions, my hope is that through the actions of my life, you might catch a glimpse as to what those were someday.

Here are some of the highlights of the trip:

13906657_10210370827294094_5825745128528020236_n

Danali National Park

There is absolutely no way to put into words how beautiful this place is. We were blessed with a view of Danali Mountain as well. Saw a Moose. Did some hiking. Breathtaking.

 

13895130_10210355725996571_1037930620537767036_n

First-Ever Small Plane Ride

This has been something I’ve always wanted to experience. Ethan took me up in his own plane and gave me an aerial tour of Fairbanks that included a fly-over of Fort Knox, the largest gold mine in the U.S.

Fly-In remote Lake Adventure

No electricity. No Wifi. No running Water. And no cell phones. This was the highlight fo the trip. Nothing but a shanty for shelter, good friends, and the Alaskan wilderness for two days. This is where I did my best thinking. And, this was my second-ever small plane ride, taking off and landing on the water.

One Response to “My Friend, Alaska”

  1. Diana Haynes Says:

    Wow, what an inspirational trip! So glad you were able to connect to the spirit within us all and receive direction on what you want for your life. Great writing!

Leave a Reply

